

Article 6

The Executive

- 6.1 The Council will appoint the Leader of the Council.
- 6.2 The Leader will determine the size and membership of the Executive, will appoint Members to the Executive and appoint one of those Members as the Deputy Leader.
- 6.3 When determining the allocation of responsibilities (see Part 3 of the Constitution) the Leader will also determine any delegations to individual Members (of the Executive) who will be known as Cabinet Members.
- 6.4 The Executive will consist of the Executive Leader together with at least two but not more than nine other Councillors.
- 6.5 The Terms of Reference set out the Executive's functions.
- The Rules of Procedure set out and determine how the Executive will operate and include arrangements for meetings, individual decision-making, and the Allocation of Responsibilities.
- 6.7 There may be no co-optees, deputies nor substitution of Executive Members.
- 6.8 Neither the Mayor nor Deputy Mayor of the Council may be appointed to the Executive. No member of the Audit committee may be an executive member.
- 6.9 The Chair of any planning committee may not be an executive member. No member of the Strategic Planning Committee may be an executive member.
- 6.10 Members of the Executive may not be Members of the Overview or Scrutiny Committee or one of its sub-committees.
- 6.11 Part 3A of the Constitution includes a full description of the responsibilities of Cabinet Members.